Blog
Smartrr Pricing 2026: How Much Does Smartrr Really Cost?
Smartrr charges $99 to $499 per month plus 1% of subscriber GMV, with no per-order fee. A teardown of the real fee base, cost per order by AOV, and terms.

Smartrr publishes three plans: Launch at $99 per month, Grow at $299, and Excel starting at $499, each adding 1% of subscriber GMV on top, per Smartrr's pricing page and its Shopify App Store listing. There is no per-order cent fee anywhere in that model, and no published minimum term on the monthly plans.
That structure makes Smartrr the odd one out among the major Shopify subscription apps, and it inverts the usual advice. Recharge charges 1.49% plus 19 cents per transaction on Starter. Skio charges 1% plus 20 cents. Those cent fees are invisible at a $150 average order value and brutal at $25. Smartrr's percentage does not move with average order value at all, so the deciding variable for a brand weighing Smartrr is AOV, not order volume.
The harder question, and the one no published comparison has actually answered, is what "subscriber GMV" means. It is a different noun from the "order total" language Recharge, Skio and Bold use, and the two plausible readings produce materially different invoices. Smartrr's own documentation resolves it, and the answer is neither of the readings people assume.
Key Takeaways
- Smartrr's published 2026 pricing is $99 (Launch), $299 (Grow) and $499+ (Excel) per month, each plus 1% of subscriber GMV, with a 14-day free trial and no per-order cent fee.
- The 1% base is wider than the subscription line: Smartrr's help documentation defines subscription GMV as the order's line item prices plus shipping and taxes, for any order containing a subscription, first order and recurring alike. Standalone one-time orders are excluded.
- The rate never drops. All three tiers charge the same 1%, so Smartrr's tiers are feature gates, not volume discounts. Growing on Smartrr does not lower the effective rate.
- At a shared benchmark of 3,000 orders per month at $65 AOV ($195,000 subscription GMV), Smartrr Grow costs $2,249 per month, or 1.153% of GMV and $0.75 per order.
- Holding GMV constant, Smartrr stays at 1.153% at every AOV, while Recharge Starter runs 2.301% at $25 AOV and 1.667% at $150. Smartrr's advantage is largest for low-AOV, high-frequency programs and shrinks as AOV climbs.
- Smartrr prices its own lock-in: the annual discount on Grow is $50 per month ($600 per year), so full month-to-month flexibility costs about 2.2% of the total app bill at the benchmark. Recharge Plus and Custom publish 12-month terms with no monthly alternative.
What Smartrr Actually Charges in 2026
The three published plans
Smartrr's pricing page and App Store listing agree on the headline numbers, which is less common in this category than it should be. Both list the same three tiers with the same percentage attached.
- Launch: $99 per month + 1% subscriber GMV. $89 per month if billed annually.
- Grow: $299 per month + 1% subscriber GMV. $249 per month if billed annually. Marked as the most popular tier.
- Excel: from $499 per month + 1% subscriber GMV. $399 per month if billed annually. The App Store listing shows $499 as a fixed figure; the pricing page describes it as a starting point, which means the real Excel number is negotiated and effectively not published.
All three carry a 14-day free trial per the App Store listing, which is short next to Recharge's 60-day trial on Starter. Billing runs through Shopify, and Smartrr states a merchant is never billed until a paid plan is selected in Shopify.
One wording issue is worth catching before it misleads anyone. Smartrr's plans documentation states that Smartrr "doesn't charge any transaction fees" on the same page that documents a 1% charge on subscription GMV. The phrase means there is no per-order cent fee. It does not mean there is no variable fee. A brand reading that line as "percentage-free" would underbudget by the entire variable component, which at the benchmark below is 87% of the Smartrr invoice.
What the plan fee actually buys
Because the percentage is identical across tiers, the monthly fee is buying features and support, nothing else. Smartrr's documentation gates them like this:
- Launch ($99): branded subscriber account portal, core subscription management, 24/7 chat support.
- Grow ($299): adds prepaid subscriptions, multi-shop setup, third-party integrations including Klaviyo, Gorgias and Postscript, advanced analytics via Looker, a dedicated client success manager, and phone and video support.
- Excel ($499+): adds loyalty rewards and referrals, bundles and build-a-box, memberships, advanced sequencing, tiered pricing, passwordless login, unlimited API calls, custom-built reporting, a dedicated Slack channel and regular subscription consults.
The branded portal sits on every tier, which matters because the portal is the main reason brands choose Smartrr in the first place. The loyalty and referral features that get cited in Smartrr's marketing are Excel-only, so a brand buying Smartrr specifically for loyalty is buying the $499 tier, not the $99 one.
What Counts as Subscriber GMV
This is the question that decides whether the 1% is cheap or expensive, and it is the one most comparisons skip. "Subscriber GMV" could reasonably mean only the recurring subscription lines, or it could mean everything a customer with an active subscription ever buys. The first reading is narrower than Recharge and Skio's order-total base. The second is considerably wider.
What Smartrr's documentation says
Smartrr's pricing page states the 1% is calculated on "all orders involving a subscription," including "first orders that are a subscription and all subsequent reorders attached to the original subscription purchase." The plans documentation is more specific, and the specifics are what matter:
- The base is the total of the line item prices in the order, plus shipping costs, plus taxes.
- Subscription discounts are reflected in the line prices, so a Subscribe and Save 20% discount does reduce the base.
- Cart-level promotions such as promo codes are excluded from the reduction, meaning a promo code lowers what the customer pays but not what the 1% is charged on.
- Add-ons inside a subscription order are included in the base.
- One-time-only orders are excluded from the subscription GMV calculation.
- Both first subscription orders and automatically created recurring orders count.
So neither assumption holds. The base is not restricted to the recurring subscription line, because shipping, tax and add-ons riding in the same order all count. And it is not all revenue from a subscriber either, because a standalone one-time order from a customer who happens to hold an active subscription does not enter the calculation. The base is the full value of any order containing a subscription.
Where the documentation goes quiet
Several things a finance team would need are not published anywhere on Smartrr's pricing page, plans documentation or App Store listing. Stating them plainly rather than guessing:
- Refund treatment is not published. Whether a fully refunded subscription order is credited back against subscription GMV, and whether partial refunds reduce the base, is not stated.
- Failed and retried payments are not published. Whether a dunning retry that eventually succeeds counts once or more than once is not stated.
- Chargeback treatment is not published.
- The Excel floor is not really published. "Starting at $499" means the number is negotiated above some volume, and Smartrr's documentation notes that Excel downgrades require going through a customer success manager.
- There is no published enterprise or volume threshold at which the 1% is renegotiated, and no published cap.
Any brand at meaningful scale should get refund and retry treatment in writing before signing, because at $195,000 per month of subscription GMV a 5% refund rate is roughly $9,750 of base per month, or about $1,170 per year in fee depending on which way it is treated.
Why the wording matters less than it looks
The practical conclusion is that Smartrr's "subscriber GMV" resolves to substantially the same base as Skio's "orders involving a subscription" and Bold's "all orders that include a subscription." The noun is different; the base is not. Shipping and tax are inside all three. skio-pricing works through what that base expansion does to a mixed cart in detail, and that analysis transfers to Smartrr almost unchanged.
What genuinely differs is the rate and the absence of a cent fee. That is where the money is, and it is the next section.
AOV Is the Deciding Variable, Not Volume
A shared benchmark first
To keep this comparable with the rest of this cluster, start at the same point bold-subscriptions-pricing uses: 3,000 subscription orders per month at a $65 average order value, or $195,000 in monthly subscription GMV. Smartrr Grow at that point costs $299 plus 1% of $195,000, which is $2,249 per month. That figure matches the Smartrr line already published in that post, derived independently here from the same primary sources.
One caveat on reading that number. Because Smartrr's base includes shipping and tax, the $65 has to be understood as the full order total, not merchandise value. A brand with $65 in products plus $8 shipping and $6 tax is at $79 of base per order, and its real Smartrr bill at 3,000 orders is $2,669, not $2,249. That gap is 19% and it is the single easiest way to underbudget Smartrr.
Against the same 3,000 orders at $195,000 of base:
- Smartrr Grow: $2,249 per month, 1.153% of GMV, $0.75 per order.
- Bold Scale ($74.99 + 0.9%): $1,829.99, 0.938%, $0.61 per order.
- Skio Scale ($599 monthly billing + 1% + $0.20): $3,149, 1.615%, $1.05 per order.
- Recharge Starter ($99 + 1.49% + $0.19): $3,574.50, 1.833%, $1.19 per order.
Smartrr sits second of four here, and Bold genuinely undercuts it on published rates. That comes with a real asterisk: Bold's own documentation routes brands above $1M in annual subscription revenue to enterprise pricing, and $195,000 per month is $2.34M per year. Bold's published Scale rate is not the rate a brand at this volume would actually be quoted. Smartrr's 1% is published all the way up.
The same GMV at three average order values
Now hold subscription GMV at $195,000 per month and change only AOV, which changes order count. This is where the structures separate.
At $25 AOV (7,800 orders per month):
- Smartrr Grow: $2,249, 1.153%, $0.288 per order.
- Bold Scale: $1,829.99, 0.938%, $0.235 per order.
- Skio Scale: $4,109, 2.107%, $0.527 per order. That is 1.83 times the Smartrr bill.
- Recharge Starter: $4,486.50, 2.301%, $0.575 per order. 1.99 times the Smartrr bill.
At $60 AOV (3,250 orders per month):
- Smartrr Grow: $2,249, 1.153%, $0.692 per order.
- Bold Scale: $1,829.99, 0.938%, $0.563 per order.
- Skio Scale: $3,199, 1.641%. 1.42 times Smartrr.
- Recharge Starter: $3,622, 1.857%. 1.61 times Smartrr.
At $150 AOV (1,300 orders per month):
- Smartrr Grow: $2,249, 1.153%, $1.73 per order.
- Bold Scale: $1,829.99, 0.938%, $1.41 per order.
- Skio Scale: $2,809, 1.441%. 1.25 times Smartrr.
- Recharge Starter: $3,251.50, 1.667%. 1.45 times Smartrr.
Smartrr's row never moves. That is the whole argument. Against Recharge the gap runs from roughly 2x at $25 AOV down to 1.45x at $150, and against Skio from 1.83x down to 1.25x. Every dollar of that convergence is the cent fee losing its bite as orders get larger.
The buying rule that falls out: Smartrr is structurally strongest for low-AOV, high-frequency programs. Coffee, supplements, pet consumables and low-ticket subscription boxes are exactly the shapes where a 19 or 20 cent per-order fee is a percentage point of revenue. A $150 skincare regimen billed quarterly gets far less benefit, and at that AOV the decision should turn on portal quality and retention tooling rather than rate.
Where processing sits
Payment processing is the larger line either way, and it is arithmetic rather than a finding. At $60 AOV and 3,250 orders, Shopify Payments on the Grow plan at 2.7% plus 30 cents costs $6,240 per month, about 2.77 times the Smartrr bill. Combined, the stack is $8,489 per month, of which Smartrr is 26.5%. Processing rates are also the one lever that improves with the Shopify plan rather than the subscription app, dropping to 2.25% plus 30 cents on Plus.
The Tiers Are Feature Gates, Not Volume Discounts
Most subscription apps reduce the percentage as a brand moves up. Bold runs 2%, then 1%, then 0.9%. Recharge runs 1.49% on Starter and 1.34% on Plus. Smartrr runs 1% on all three tiers, which has a consequence that is easy to miss: there is no GMV level at which upgrading Smartrr reduces the effective rate.
The only crossover worth computing is therefore a feature crossover, not a cost one. Moving Launch to Grow costs a flat $200 per month at any volume, and buys prepaid subscriptions, Klaviyo, multi-shop and advanced analytics. A brand should upgrade when it needs one of those, on a date that has nothing to do with GMV. Compared with the tier-crossover math in recharge-pricing and bold-subscriptions-pricing, Smartrr's plan choice is a simpler decision and a less rewarding one.
The flip side: at $1,000,000 per month in subscription GMV, Smartrr Excel costs $499 plus $10,000, which is $10,499 per month or $125,988 per year at 1.050%. The percentage has barely moved from the 1.153% a brand paid at a fifth of that volume. Scale does not earn a discount on Smartrr unless it is negotiated into the Excel figure directly.
Reality Check: Terms, Migration, Support
Commercial terms, and the price of flexibility
This is where Smartrr is genuinely strongest and where the published terms are unusually clean. Smartrr's pricing page states a plan can be cancelled at any time and that billing runs "through the end of the month in which you cancel your plan." It also commits to no forced upgrades based on usage, and allows upgrades or downgrades at any time.
Set that against the alternatives. Recharge publishes a 12-month term on both Plus and Custom, and states downgrades are only available after the term commitment expires. Skio's pricing page shows $499 per month on annual billing against $599 on monthly and stops there, but its terms of service do not. Fees are "invoiced annually in advance," "All Fees paid are non-refundable and are not subject to set-off," terms renew automatically for periods equal to the initial term, and getting out requires notice "no later than thirty (30) days prior to the expiration." Against that, Smartrr's month-to-month billing is the difference between deciding to leave and waiting for a window to open.
Smartrr also puts an explicit price on its own lock-in, which is rare enough to be worth measuring:
- Launch: $99 monthly vs $89 annual. Flexibility costs $120 per year.
- Grow: $299 monthly vs $249 annual. Flexibility costs $600 per year.
- Excel: $499 monthly vs $399 annual. Flexibility costs $1,200 per year.
At the $195,000 GMV benchmark, that $600 per year is $50 per month against a $2,249 monthly bill, or about 2.2%. A brand can buy the right to leave in any given month for roughly 2% of its subscription app spend. Recharge Plus does not offer that option at any price, because 12 months is the only published term.
Getting off Smartrr
Migration out is the cost buyers consistently underestimate. Smartrr's admin portal exposes an Export to CSV bulk action on the subscriptions list, and its migration documentation covers moving subscriptions between payment processors. Smartrr's stated inbound timeline, on its migration page, is one day for simple builds and one to two weeks for complex programs with larger subscriber bases, which is a fair proxy for the outbound effort.
What a CSV does not carry is the payment credential. Subscription data and payment tokens are separate problems, and the token side is where migrations stall regardless of vendor. The general mechanics are covered in recharge-pricing and skio-pricing and apply here too. The Smartrr-specific point is narrower: because Smartrr does not require an annual commitment on its monthly plans, a brand can run a migration on its own schedule rather than timing it to a renewal date and a notice window. That is a real operational saving even though it never appears on an invoice.
Support, and what the reviews show
Support scales with the tier: 24/7 chat from Launch, a dedicated client success manager plus phone and video from Grow, and a Slack channel with regular business consults on Excel. Smartrr's App Store listing shows 5.0 stars across 70 reviews, with 94% at five stars. The rating is strong and the review count is small next to the incumbents, which cuts both ways: the sentiment is real, and the sample is thin enough that it reflects a relatively concentrated, well-served customer base rather than a mass-market one.
What tends to break
- Budgeting the 1% on merchandise value. Shipping and tax are in the base, which understates the bill by roughly 15 to 20% for most physical goods brands.
- Assuming promo codes reduce the fee. Cart-level discounts do not reduce subscription GMV; only subscription discounts applied to line prices do.
- Buying Launch for loyalty. Loyalty, referrals and build-a-box are Excel features at $499 and up.
- Treating Excel's $499 as the price. It is a floor, and the real figure is negotiated.
- Ignoring refund treatment. It is not published, and at scale it moves real money.
What Consolidation Did to Buyer Leverage
Recharge acquired Skio on April 30, 2026; skio-pricing covers the deal and its terms. The consequence specific to Smartrr is the one that has not been priced.
Before April 30, a brand negotiating a subscription app had four meaningfully independent vendors to play against each other. It now has fewer. Recharge and Skio share an owner and a stated combined roadmap, Bold is a legacy multi-product app business whose published subscription rates stop at $1M in annual subscription revenue, and Smartrr is the largest remaining independent specialist of the four. That is a good position for Smartrr and a worse one for buyers, because competitive pressure on rates comes from vendors who need to win deals from each other.
Which is exactly why the commercial terms deserve weight in the decision rather than being treated as fine print. In a consolidating market, the option to leave inside 30 days is worth more than it was in 2025, and it is the thing a 12-month term takes away. Pricing that option at roughly $600 per year on Grow, against the possibility of being locked into a vendor whose ownership or roadmap changes mid-term, is a reasonable trade for most brands under $5M in subscription revenue. A brand signing a 12-month Recharge term today is making a bet on a roadmap that is actively being merged with a competitor's.
How the Cost Structures Compare
Comparing structures rather than feature lists, and quoting only the number each comparison turns on. For switching recommendations rather than cost analysis, smartrr-alternatives covers that ground.
- Recharge (1.49% + 19 cents on Starter, 12-month term on Plus and Custom): the deepest integration ecosystem in the category, and with Skio now inside it, more than 20,000 merchants and over $20B in annual GMV between the two, with retention tooling that is genuinely mature. Costs 1.45x to 1.99x Smartrr across the AOV range tested, and removes the month-to-month option above Starter.
- Skio (1% + 20 cents, $499 to $599 per month): excellent modern UX and a fast, low-friction checkout. Matches Smartrr's percentage but adds the cent fee and a higher floor, landing 1.25x to 1.83x Smartrr. Now a Recharge subsidiary.
- Bold (0.9% to 2%, from $24.99 per month): the lowest published rates in the comparison and a legitimately cheap entry point for small programs. Published rates stop at $1M annual subscription revenue, and the product is one of many in a multi-product portfolio rather than a focus.
- Smartrr (1% flat, $99 to $499+ per month, month-to-month): the strongest brand-led subscriber portal of the four and the reason most brands pick it, loyalty and referrals built in at Excel, and brand-led UX that merchandising teams can actually control. No cent fee, no rate reduction with scale, and the cleanest published exit terms.
Against native billing on an API-first platform
The structural alternative is a platform where recurring billing is part of the core commerce API rather than an app metered on GMV. Swell builds subscriptions into the core API, exposed the same way products and orders are, and cards are vaulted directly with the gateway.
The cost shape is different rather than uniformly cheaper. Swell's plans are Starter $29, Basic $79, Standard $299 and Unlimited $2,250 per month billed yearly, with trailing-twelve-month revenue ceilings of $50K, $250K, $1M and $5M and overage above the ceiling of 2%, 1.5%, 1% and 0.4% respectively, plus $5 per 100,000 excess API requests and $5 per additional GB of storage. Custom pricing applies above $10M per year. The fee is triggered by outgrowing a plan, not by each transaction.
At the benchmark, a brand doing $2.34M per year where subscriptions are the whole business would sit on Standard at $299 per month plus 1% on the $1.34M above the ceiling, roughly $16,988 per year, against $26,988 per year for Smartrr Grow plus a Shopify plan on top. That comparison is not like for like, since Swell replaces the commerce platform while Smartrr sits on one, and a brand whose total revenue exceeds its subscription revenue would land on a higher Swell tier. subscription-billing-platforms-ecommerce sets out the architectural tradeoff, and migrating-shopify-swell covers the move itself, which is a platform replatform rather than an app swap.
Which One to Choose
Written for a buyer with a real program rather than a hypothetical one:
- Choose Smartrr if the average subscription order total is under roughly $60, order frequency is high, and the subscriber portal and loyalty experience are part of the brand rather than a utility. The flat 1% is at its most valuable exactly there, and the month-to-month terms are worth real money in a consolidating market.
- Choose Smartrr if contract flexibility is a board-level concern, or the brand is likely to replatform within 18 months and cannot afford a 12-month term.
- Choose Recharge if the requirement is integration breadth, agency familiarity and a large partner ecosystem, and AOV is high enough that the cent fee is immaterial. Its rate is the highest of the four tested, and the 12-month term above Starter is the price of that ecosystem.
- Choose Skio if checkout and login experience is the priority and the brand is comfortable with a vendor now owned by its largest competitor. The pricing is close to Smartrr's at high AOV and clearly worse at low AOV.
- Choose Bold if the program is small, the budget is tight and a $24.99 entry point matters more than product focus. Confirm the actual quoted rate above $1M in annual subscription revenue before planning on the published one.
- Choose native billing on an API-first platform if subscription GMV is projected past roughly $3M per year, the roadmap needs subscription logic the app layer does not expose, or a percentage of every subscription order in perpetuity is not an acceptable cost of doing business. This is a replatform, not a switch, and should be budgeted as one.
Whichever way the cost math lands, retention moves the number more than the rate does. A percentage point of churn is usually worth more than a tenth of a point of fee, and reduce-subscription-churn-rate covers that side. For brands still choosing the underlying platform, best-ecommerce-platform-subscription-box is the better starting point.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Smartrr cost per month?
Smartrr publishes three plans: Launch at $99 per month, Grow at $299 and Excel starting at $499, each plus 1% of subscriber GMV. Annual billing reduces those to $89, $249 and $399 per month. There is no per-order cent fee, and a 14-day free trial applies to all three.
What exactly does Smartrr charge the 1% on?
Smartrr's plans documentation defines subscription GMV as the total of the line item prices in any order containing a subscription, plus shipping costs and taxes. It covers both the first subscription order and all recurring reorders, and includes add-ons within a subscription order. Standalone one-time orders are excluded, and cart-level promo codes do not reduce the base, although subscription discounts applied to line prices do.
Does Smartrr have a contract or minimum term?
Not on the monthly plans. Smartrr's pricing page states a plan can be cancelled at any time and that billing runs through the end of the month of cancellation, with no forced upgrades based on usage. A discounted annual option exists, which does imply a yearly commitment. By comparison, Recharge publishes a 12-month term on its Plus and Custom plans.
Is Smartrr cheaper than Recharge or Skio?
At the volumes tested, yes, and the margin depends on average order value. Holding subscription GMV at $195,000 per month, Smartrr Grow costs $2,249 regardless of AOV, while Recharge Starter ranges from $3,251.50 at $150 AOV to $4,486.50 at $25 AOV, and Skio Scale from $2,809 to $4,109. The lower the AOV, the larger Smartrr's advantage.
Does Smartrr's rate drop as a brand grows?
No. All three published tiers charge the same 1%, so the effective rate stays roughly flat as volume grows. At $1M per month in subscription GMV, Excel priced at its published $499 floor works out to about 1.050%, though "starting at $499" means the real platform fee at that volume is negotiated rather than published. Any reduction below 1% would have to be negotiated into a custom Excel figure, and Smartrr does not publish a volume threshold at which that happens.
What is not published about Smartrr's pricing?
Refund and partial-refund treatment, handling of failed and retried payments, chargeback treatment, the real ceiling on the Excel tier above its $499 starting point, and any enterprise volume threshold at which the 1% is renegotiated. None of these appear on the pricing page, the plans documentation or the App Store listing, and all of them should be confirmed in writing before signing at scale.
How did Recharge acquiring Skio change the decision?
Recharge's April 30, 2026 acquisition of Skio leaves Smartrr as the largest independent specialist among the four vendors compared here. For buyers, fewer independent vendors means less downward pressure on rates, which raises the value of short commercial terms. Smartrr's month-to-month option is worth more in that environment than it was before the deal.